I tend to be classified as the good kid, the girl no one cusses around, the “innocent one”. But that doesn’t mean all my friends have the same reputation. When one of these friends, (who happens to love scary movies, scary music, and scary t-shirts, yet whom I love dearly) asked me to go to see a Shakespeare play, I was slightly shocked. Her attire when I arrived at her house was even more shocking.

I knocked on her door, ready to go see Twelfth Night dressed in a pink American Eagle shirt, jeans, and my sperrys. She opens it, and my eyes popped. My friends is wearing a pair of old pilot goggles on her head, a black corset-type dress, black boots, and black lace gloves reaching her elbows. Immediately she runs out to hug me and my first thought is, “Oh no. What have I gotten myself into??”

Ok so this is not my friend, but you get the point. (from xerposa.com)

I step back and smile, but inside I’m starting to flip out. Now don’t get me wrong, this is typical of my friend, and I love her for it. However, thoughts are swirling in my head. What if this is some horror show? I’m wearing totally the wrong outfit! What if there are tons of scary people at this play? In the end I decided that my friend knows me well enough not to take me to something I’d hate, and that this outfit of hers must just be some kind of an odd obsession. Either way, we arrived at the theater and were indeed about to see Twelfth Night.

“Umm, am I wearing the wrong thing?” I asked cautiously. “Nah you’re fine! I just like to get into the whole steampunk thing,” she replied, smiling. “Oh, yeah.” I trailed off, pretending I knew what the heck she was talking about. Steampunk? Is that one of her weird bands? It must be. I followed her into the room where the play was about to start.

This was not Shakespeare. The entire set was covered in gears and clocks and strange shapes and colors. “What is all this?” I asked her, slightly overwhelmed. “Steampunk! Didn’t I tell you? This is a steampunk version of Twelfth Night!” She told me, getting very excited. So, steampunk isn’t a band after all. I crossed that theory off my list. I continued to look around the room, and no one else except this one guy was dressed like my friend. I felt a bit better. The set actually looked amazing, so maybe this would be cool, and not terrifying.

After a few minutes I broke down and decided I had to know exactly what was going on, even if I risked looking stupid in front of my friend. “So…don’t laugh at me, but what exactly is steampunk?” I bit my lip, bracing myself. And what does my friend do? Bursts out laughing. I smiled. “It’s like this whole genre. There’s music, books, fashion, everything. it has to do with Victorian-age stuff”. Ooohhh, I get it now! That explained everything: the goggles, the gears, the clocks. By then the actors had come out on stage, and all were dressed in elaborate outfits made of random clothing patterns, wearing the same type of goggles on their heads and/or fancy hats, as well as tattoos of gears on their faces or arms. I was fascinated.

from xtraneus.com

 

Since I knew the play very well, I was able to focus on the captivating clothes, music, and scenery. If you had told me hours earlier that I’d be going to see a steampunk version of Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night and love it, I’d have laughed in your face. But that’s exactaly what happened. Steampunk wasn’t some scary play, or heavy metal band, or something that would kill me. I love steampunk and it has become a borderline obsession with me!

So, I hope you enjoyed reading my experience. If you don’t know anything about this stuff, I suggest you go google it right now! If you already love it, then you’re awesome! Leave a comment below and tell me what you think! 🙂

